Running

When I was a freshman in college, I took up running as one of my P.E. subjects because I didn’t have any other choice – I really don’t know how to play basketball and I kinda suck at volleyball. My sports was soccer, badminton and table tennis. I wasn’t a great player but I wasn’t bad either. So since the only class still with available slots was running, that’s what I took. Running was easy. All you had to do was to ensure that your 1-mile run has improved. At the beginning of the semester, you had to do a 1-mile run/sprint/jog/whatever and time it. At the end, your running time should have improved by then. Quite easy right?

Well I enjoyed running a lot. It helped me survive Honor Guard training. It also helped me keep fit since I was still adjusting to my new environment. Hehe.

Anyways, that all went away after freshmen year. But now I found that I do still love to run or jog. It’s just my laziness that’s been on the way. Yesterday, in a 5-kilometer fun run, I found out that even though I couldn’t jog the entire 5K, I still found it exhilirating and fun, not to mention that completing the lap was downright fulfilling.

Before joining this fun run, I trained (not so seriously) for a week and was thinking that I should jog more often. Yesterday made me decide that I will be jogging regularly from now on. And I will be joining as many fun runs as possible.

Next stop: August 17 – I have to choose though…

Run for Your Life: Pass the Picture Based Health Warning Bill, UP Campus, 3k/ 5k/ 10k. Reg fee: P250. Call Junie Santos (0917.8288895) or email juniepot@yahoo.com or UP Mountaineers: Bernz Varona (0917.8344425) or Thumbie o. Remigio (0916.3858322) email thumbieremigio@yahoo.com

or

Men’s Health 10,000km Miracle Run, Fort Bonifacio Global City, 5k team/10k individual. Reg fee: P350. Register at Summit Media at 6/F Robinsons Cybergate 3, Pioneer St., Mandaluyong City, All Powerbooks outlets, R.O.X. at Bonifacio High Street, Bonifacio Global City, All-Terra Bike Shop at Club 650, Libis, Quezon City. Visit site to download reg form.

And after that, Adidas Run for Love, 3k/ 5k/ 10k on September 7.

Hehe. Happy running to me! Oh, and to you, too, if you’re into jogging/running as well.

Leave a Reply

