Answer Me This

Another original by yours truly. I just composed right now. I’ve had my YM status default to the first paragraph for a week now.  

Answer me this 

Answer me this, if you dare —
Someone told me once:
Let go of what kills you,
And hold on to what keeps you breathing.
But what if…
That which is killing me slowly
Also happens to make me breath happily?
What then?

Answer me this, if you dare –-
I ask myself these questions:
Do you know who I am?
Do you know who you are?
Now tell me…
Is it fair that I know you,
But you don’t know me at all?
What then?

Answer me this, if you dare –-
You say all the time:
We’re good friends;
Indeed you’ve told lots of stories to me.
And yet…
Why is it that I don’t know you,
And you’re still distant?
What then?

I’ll answer this, because I dare –-
This is the truth:
Your presence is pain and pleasure,
You’re the air that I inhale,
And the poison of my life.
What should I do?
Hold on to it or let it all go?
What then?

Leave a Reply

