Appreciation & other things to catch up on

2008 Starbucks Planner

This is the new 2008 Starbucks Planner.

2008 Starbucks Planner

I got it last week after a week of delaying to get it because I was too busy to claim the item (Note: I’d completed the 24 stickers the week prior to that but did not claim the Planner right away, because I wanted to proudly get a picture of the card with all 24 stickers on their respective slots). I’m proud to have completed it. This is my fourth Starbucks Planner; I’ve been loyally and dutifully collecting Starbucks items over the past years (even the bag!).

Someone left a long message on my Guestbook page, and I’m saddened to hear that the Starbucks people haven’t really been consistent at all. I was lucky enough to learn that they will only honor a combination of up to 2 cards w/ the right number of stickers for the planner- I’m one of those who did not read the rules that’s clearly printed on the card – and, thankfully, did not have to resort to it because I always brought my card with me. Hehe. For those of you who don’t want to go over to the other page, I’ll put his message here.

I am at The Medical City 3x a week for hemodialysis and I always buy 2 cups of coffee at the Starbucks so I can rack up the stickers. Take note, I could save by buying myself a large venti size coffee but I buy 2 short sizes to get more stickers.

For the last 2 weeks or so, my maid [who buys the coffee] has been forgetting to bring the sticker card. HOWEVER, the crew at Starbucks insist that this is okay since we can, according to them, combine the stickers from more than one promo card.

This morning, I ordered coffee #24. I was excited to finally get the planner.

My maid came back with the coffee BUT WITH NO PLANNER. Why? Apparently, you can only combine the stickers from NOT MORE THAN 2 PROMO CARDS. Since most of my stickers are in 2 promo cards and 6 are spread across four others, they say I do not qualify despite the fact that I have already bought 24 cups of coffee. I was upset!

I have to admit, the rules clearly say “maximum of 2 promo cards” on the card itself. It probably is my fault for not reading it. BUT, why did the crew say otherwise? Was it so hard to remind us that only 2 cards can be combined? What’s with the “Don’t ask, don’t tell” attitude?

This doesn’t really pose such a big problem for me, ‘coz I will definitely be buying more coffee the next time I’m at the hospital. I’ll probably qualify for 2 planners by the time the promo ends. BUT what about the other buyers who don’t know about this rule, who are trying so hard to buy 24 cups of coffee just to get the planner? What happens when they buy cup #24 like I did, and the cashier tells them “Sorry, despite buying 24 expensive cups of coffee, you STILL don’t qualify ‘coz your stickers are spread across more than 2 cards”? What difference does it make if I have 24 cards with 1 sticker in each one or 1 card with 24 stickers in it? Either way, I bought the required quantity of coffee!

I texted my other friends who were also accumulating stickers to get the planner and they also didn’t know about the 2 card maximum rule. They didn’t even know that you must buy 12 regular coffees and 12 christmas flavors to get the planner. My point is that despite the fact that they said so in the rules, nobody really reads the rules and it would be much easier if their crew told us about this rule up front, because this is apparently a VITAL RULE to qualify for the planner. You don’t hide this rule amidst the fine print, hiding in plain sight!

When the nurse saw I was kind of upset over what happened, she jokingly said, “Don’t get upset, it’s only a planner. You can buy them real cheap at National Bookstore, much cheaper when the new year begins.” She has a point, but that isn’t the point. I could care less about the planner, I dont intend to use it. My point is I felt I was victimized by this promo to buy more coffee!

Another annoying thing is, part of the proceeds from this promo will supposedly go to charity, So they are actually trying to make you buy more coffee thinking that it’s for a “worthy cause”. I don’t mind giving to charity, but I dont appreciate the fraudulent tactics.

So sad. I sympathize with you, bro. But you did good because you told your friends about that one little rule which the folks at the coffee shop have not been clear about.

***

Enough about the planner! Let’s move on to more interesting things…

Office Christmas party

It was a blast! Xychedelic Xmas Experience! Had lots of fun and afterwards, we went singing at Music Match. Got home past four in the morning. LOL!

Just a couple of pictures. Follow the link above to see more pictures of that night.
ESG

Snakin' around  That 70's Party

***

Team Christmas party

Took place last Thursday night. I was an overnight party so it was safe to drink away. =D

** I’ll post some pictures soon. In the meantime, most of the photos are in my Multiply site.

Leave a Reply

