Happy Friday the 13th

Calendar showing Friday the 13th.

Yes! It’s that time again of the year! The one where I enjoy a day without any worries, no worries at all – just like any other day. Hehe.

Actually, it’s Friday the 13th, and for most people, they consider it to be very unlucky day. But for me? It’s the same as the yesterday or any other day. In fact, I’ve come to believe the opposite about Friday the 13th. I think I’m lucky on days like this. Wanna know why? Head on over to my feature page dedicated solely for this day: Friday the 13th.

Anyways, I thought I’d be able to relax a bit today but unfortunately, the work never stops so I’ll just have to be patient and finish my work as soon as possible so I can finally relax this week. =)

***

Beware the black cat out there! Hahaha!!! Anyways, here’s a short history about this feline:

Originally in Britain and Europe, a black cat crossing one’s path was considered good luck; however they were also seen by the church as associated with witches. It was the church, who considered them unholy and pagan, who altered their reputation. The black cat was still usually seen as good luck, however in the USA and parts of Europe which were affected by the witch hunts the association with witches caused them to be considered as bad luck. In places which weren’t affected particularly by witch hunts, they retained their status as good luck, and are still considered as such in Japan, Britain and Egypt.[citation needed] However in Romanian culture, especially in the historical region of Moldavia, one of the strongest superstitions still feared by many people says that black cats crossing ones path represent bad luck, despite the fact that this region was never affected by witch hunts or anti-paganism.f

Poor kitty… I happen to like the color black, especially if it’s interperse with silver. I also happen to like cats, too. They’re cute and cuddly (nevermind their claws, hehe). So I don’t mind black cats at all. Too bad black doesn’t suit all dogs. I like dogs, too… WAIT! What in the world am I talking about? It seems that I’m just rambling on here. Sheesh! Must be getting dementia.

*gasp!*

It’s the bad luck! Hahaha! Just kidding!

Again, HAPPY FRIDAY THE 13TH!!

Sources:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_cat

Leave a Reply

