Wrath of the Storm III

Okay, so there we were – my sister and I – waiting out the storm. I had cancelled all my appointments for the day. We were left literally in the dark in the wake of the typhoon’s winds. So, without electricity, we had nothing to do. We couldn’t even heat any food and water with our microwave/thermos.

The solution?

Eat out, of course, or buy take-out anything – food, water, other drinks, supplies, etc. Glorietta was closed. Most of SM Makati was closed as well, except for the Supermarket. We bought supplies that same afternoon – or was it evening already? Took a big bite at Heaven n’ Eggs and went home to do nothing. The following day, with no electricity still, there was nothing else to do except to follow up on my appointments the day before. Luckily, I was able to do this.

So what to do for the rest of the days of darkness? There was no mobile/cellphone service at inside the apartment – you had to go to the driveway to even get one bar of signal. What to do, what to do?

Easily done!

Go to Starbucks, bring some supplies in a small bag, look for a comfortable place to sit and read, buy some lattes and camp out for two days! Hahaha! But seriously, I spent the entire time at Starbucks. I’ve spent time there sometimes on other days at other times, but what happened during those last two days of boredom and darkness was almost like abusing Starbucks hospitality, hoarding their environment-friendly tissues and basically taking up space when I was doing nothing but just sitting there – reading at times – and sipping my drink.

Anyways, thanks Starbucks! You really help me, and other people, conquer the boredom.

Leave a Reply

