On the road to Hell

So our client trainers are here. We’re about to start our major project for the company which is Global Sustainability. From the orientations we’ve had from our two OICs, it looks like this project’s going to make us bleed… to Hell!

Okay, I wrote the paragraph above about an hour and a half ago. Gawd! How accurate was I? Go on, ask me… Well, I won’t let you suffer for long.

We just attended an orientation presentation with the clients-in-charge and I must say, it’s going to be  a lot of hard work. Ethical issues in South Africa, labor and employment scandals, corporate responsibility, bottomline, sustainability — Aargh! I’ve only encountered these things in college on Economics classes! Suddenly, my past has come back to haunt me…

Oh well, at the back of my mind, I’ve always wanted to use the knowledge I’ve gleaned from college. I’ve wished for it while I was at my previous job. Looks like I’ve finally gotten it…

Hopefully, I’ll get something out of this. I’ll be able to expand my knowledge on corporate governance and other social/environmental issues. After my stint here, maybe I can go into other research firms or maybe consultancy firms. Who knows, maybe I’ll be able to pursue my post-graduate study and enter ADB – Asian Development Bank – which has its Asia-Pacific headquarters at Ortigas Center.

The options are surely suddenly bigger for me. It used to be narrow since my first job – which lasted for more than two years, by the way – was in the call center industry. I think this is enough to be patient enough on the road to Hell!

Leave a Reply

